Can you see it yet?

Went for a walk in Blue Sky Canyon yesterday with my Shadow and as luck would have it  timed our trip perfectly to come across a Ranger led hike.  Usually I would make a wide berth as I prefer my nature hikes on the quiet side and not surrounded by a gaggle of people, BUT their first discovery was a mama hummingbird manning her nest! I HAD to stop when I heard that.  It took me a full five minutes of staring from a multitude of angles while the Ranger was pointing directly at the nest for me to finally see it!! That is how well mother nature works to protect her creatures. It was in the center of a tree right next to the path – yet I had to struggle to see it! Oh but it was worth it as you will see below.

Now we have many, many hummingbirds in our yard at home. They come to the feeders regularly but I have never been able to spot a nest even though I have tried many times believe me! I was informed by the Ranger to please not get close at all as the eggs will not hatch if the mother is worried or stressed. I took this with my 300mm maxed out which produced a photo a tiny bit soft.  It was also very overcast and I was shooting into the center of the tree. All in all happy with my result. Her nest is so beautiful I would like my home to look just like it! If this doesn’t put a smile on your face nothing will!                 Limited Edition Prints available here.

Leave a Reply

