A Life Saved!

Remember starting next week all blog posts from me will be at www.MScott-Photography.com   PLEEEEAAASE!! would you go there and re subscribe!!!  You can RSS or e-mail subscribe from there!! I would hate to lose any one you especially as a new-ish blog!! Thanks in advance.. : )

As some of you may know I found a hummingbird nest while on a hike at nearby Blue Sky Canyon about two weeks ago and was able to photograph the mama sitting on her nest from QUITE a distance with my 300mm maxed out! I have actively searched for hummingbird nests in the past with no luck at all and now I see why. They are virtually impossible to see even when you know where they are!!

Here again is the original photo of the Mama

Well we were able to get back to the park over the weekend and I was eager to check on the nest. When we found it again I felt like something wasn’t right. There was only one tiny baby peeking out at me and with the big storm that we just had in mind it prompted me to look around on the ground by the nest. Lo and behold there was a baby lying on the ground and at first glance I thought ” Oh no! it’s dead!” But as I watched I could see it breathing. I alerted a park ranger who was nearby and they placed the baby back in the nest. Which I didn’t know you could do successfully. There was barely room for two of them and he perched precariously on the edge of the nest panting from stress. I wasn’t sure what would happen but when we came by at the end of our hike I could see he was now snuggled into the nest more. Good Sign! Today I returned to check on things…no mama in sight ( they need to feed every 20 minutes) so I snapped a few pictures of the nest with both birds snuggled in there tight! Alive! Yay! Here you go let’s all keep our fingers crossed.

4 thoughts on “A Life Saved!

  1. Beautiful story!! I just told that to my husband (he asked why you didn’t keep the bird since it was so darn cute 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

