C Urchins at the Sea

Being married to a US Naval officer all these years the ocean has been a huge part of my life! Although I enjoy the beach as much as the next person there are a few drawbacks in my mind. No mountains being one, boredom being another. I mean how many games of paddle can you play between lying around reading mags? “Be more adventurous!” you say That’s all well and good until sand gets somewhere you would rather it not be and the salt water starts to mummify your body. But (insert HUGE sigh here.) Until the Navy finds a way to sail it’s ships from a mountain top I have had to seek out something I DO enjoy at the beach and that has been searching for various sea items. Dead fish carcasses and stinky seaweed aside I do adore searching for starfish, which I throw back if I arrive in time.  Eeeww!,eeeww!, they feel so creepy when they are alive! Sea urchin skeletons, shells of all shapes and sizes and a pathological desire to find sea glass. Yes I now have books about it and yes I may have entered a contest or two, er three, OK four times! The odd thing is I haven’t photographed my collection yet – hmmmmm. mental note to get on that.  I did however recently photograph a few of my sea urchins using the Lomo Diana F+ & 35mm film. And I have been practicing with a vintage Argus C3 the father (and mother) of 35mm film. After using digital for so long it’s an exercise in extreme patience to shoot film again, but it can yield really beautiful results. Thought you might enjoy these three.

All are available as limited edition,signed & numbered prints on fab Ilford paper or as Open Edition Prints. Simply click HERE  As always feedback makes me want to hug you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sea urchin, film, art print,asqew creative, ocean

C urchin

Sea urchin, ocean, seashore,california,film,art print, lomography,asqew creative

C urchin

Sea urchin, Asqew creative,Ocean, neutral,film,

 

 

Leave a Reply

